Contentment

Ecclesiastes 4:6 Better is an handful with quietness, than both the hands full with travail and vexation of spirit.

There have been times in my life that I was convinced that what I had was just not good enough. Have you been there? I certainly hope I haven’t been alone! 🙂 I can see where my efforts to gain what I thought would be good for me turned into such a big mess!! Oh how I messed up those situations … royally! I could just kick myself for having jumped ahead of God!

Hebrews 13:5 Let your conversation be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have: for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.

Having things my way put me in an absolutely awful place. I struggled and struggled because I chose to do things my way instead of seeking the Lord’s will in the situation. What I was telling God was that I thought I knew better than Him. I wasn’t content with what He had given me!

1 Timothy 6:6 But godliness with contentment is great gain.

Paul tells us that godliness with contentment is great gain. Had I sought the Lord’s will and waited on His direction, I would not have been miserable in the end (vexation of spirit). Instead I was so miserable inside for the mess that I had gotten myself into. Oh I surely sought Him after that! I needed someone to clean up my mess! But the Lord allowed me to stay in that mess for a while to teach me that when I wait on Him, my soul will be quieted within me. There is peace in waiting on Him, although it doesn’t seem that way at the time.

You would think I would have learned from that mistake, but I didn’t. I repeated it a couple more times before I learned that lesson! Thank You, Lord, for Your patience with me! 🙂  It is only recently that I was hit with the proverbial two by four and woke up to that little truth. The truth is, had I turned to the Father, who loves me and is always Good and ONLY Good, I would have been told to wait on Him. That is where the “godliness with contentment” comes in. Contentment cannot be achieved without God. The world is constantly telling us to want “more.” But God says to be content with what we have and wait!

Psalms 27:14 Wait on the LORD: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the LORD.

I’m commanded here to not only wait but to be of good courage. This is where I failed in my previous attempts. I was not of good courage. Instead, I dwelt on the fact that I wasn’t getting what I wanted and it enhanced the discontentment in my heart. Now I have learned that when I wait and “am of good courage,” the Father will strengthen my heart. He will mold me into the image of His Son. Do you see Christ as being discontent anywhere in the Scriptures? Thank the Good Lord that He was not or He would not have died that miserable death to pay for our sins! Praise Him!

Philippians 4:11 Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.

So dear Christian lady, are you discontent today? Don’t be the stubborn mule that I was but learn from my mistakes. It will bring you heartache if you continue in that state, as it did me. Instead, be like Paul and learn to be content no matter what trial or situation you have been given. The Lord allows these to train us and to mold us. The Potter is molding His clay – allow Him to do this in your life! Then you can say with Mr. Spafford below that that it is well with your soul!

It Is Well With My Soul
Horatio G. Spafford

When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll;
Whatever my lot, Thou hast taught me to say,
It is well, it is well with my soul.

Refrain:
It is well with my soul,
It is well, it is well with my soul.

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
Let this blest assurance control,
That Christ hath regarded my helpless estate,
And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

My sin—oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!—
My sin, not in part but the whole,
Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more,
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!

For me, be it Christ, be it Christ hence to live:
If Jordan above me shall roll,
No pang shall be mine, for in death as in life
Thou wilt whisper Thy peace to my soul.

But, Lord, ’tis for Thee, for Thy coming we wait,
The sky, not the grave, is our goal;
Oh, trump of the angel! Oh, voice of the Lord!
Blessed hope, blessed rest of my soul!

And Lord, haste the day when the faith shall be sight,
The clouds be rolled back as a scroll;
The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
Even so, it is well with my soul.

Leave a Reply

