Foolish or Virtuous?

Proverbs 9:13 A foolish woman [is] clamorous: [she is] simple, and knoweth nothing.

The Book of Proverbs is such a wonderful instruction book. God reveals to us how He views foolishness and what He thinks of being virtuous – all in one book! I find that when I don’t know what to read in my Bible, I can always turn to Proverbs and walk away with something that the Lord wants to say to me! 🙂

Noah Webster’s 1828 Dictionary defines the words “foolish” and “clamorous” as:

FOOL’ISH, a. 1. Void of understanding or sound judgment; weak in intellect; applied to general character. 2. Unwise; imprudent; acting without judgment or discretion in particular things. 3. Proceeding from folly, or marked with folly; silly; vain; trifling. But foolish questions avoid. 2 Tim 2. 4. Ridiculous; despicable. A foolish figure he must make. 5. In scripture, wicked; sinful; acting without regard to the divine law and glory, or to one’s own eternal happiness. O foolish Galatians – Gal 3. 6. Proceeding from depravity; sinful; as foolish lusts. 1 Tim

 CLAMOROUS, a. Speaking and repeating loud words; noisy; vociferous; loud; turbulent.

What a wonderful way for a Christian woman to learn to judge her own walk with the Lord, ladies! I’ll put my name in front of all of the definitions and see what the Lord is trying to teach me this morning! 🙂

Kate is void of understanding. Kate is void of sound judgment and weak in intellect.

Kate is unwise; Kate is imprudent; Kate is acting without judgment or discretion.

Kate is silly and vain.

Kate is dispicable and ridiculous.

Kate is wicked.

Kate is depraved and sinful.

Kate speaks and repeats loud words; Kate is noisy and turbulent.

Ouch! Let’s pause for a moment while I lick my wounds! 😉 This verse is packed with instruction. Our “How To” Manual, the Bible, says it perfectly! Our hearts have to desire to change. We remain miserable only when we remain fixed and continue to walk down our current path. Change can only happen when we allow the Holy Spirit to guide and direct. He will never lead us down the wrong path, amen? He wants to teach us and to mold us into the image of Christ. That is the Holy Spirit’s job, after all. So as we look at that uphill path of spiritual growth, let’s remember that the changes will bring glory to the Lord!

So what must I do to change? I believe that acknowledgment of my sin is the best place to start. The Holy Spirit will reveal to me exactly what I’m guilty of and those statements above will pop right out at me… and they do! Then once I have acknowledged those areas, I seek the Lord’s forgiveness and move on! It is then that the Holy Spirit can work with a yielded heart and start a work of “opposites.” I can now gain wisdom and not be void of understanding or weak in intellect. I can now become wise through the Scriptures. As a result, I will no longer be silly or vain, etc. etc. I think you get my drift!

Lord, reveal to me those areas where I am weak. Help me to be molded in your image and help me to yield myself to the Holy Spirit! Father, I would rather be a virtuous woman than this foolish woman of Proverbs 9:13. Forgive me, Lord! Restore me and mold me into the image of your Son, Jesus, for it’s in His name that I pray! Amen.

Leave a Reply

